20th Apr, 2019

How the Droitwich seats on Wychavon District were won and lost

Droitwich Editorial 9th May, 2015 Updated: 17th Oct, 2016

THE CONSERVATIVES maintained overall control of Wychavon District Council after the local elections.

In the Droitwich wards, Labour lost their only seat and the Liberal Democrats maintained theirs.

Labour’s Peter Pinfield, who represented Droitwich West, stood down prior to the election and his seat was taken by the Conservatives, meaning the Tories now hold all the seats in the Central, East, West, South East and South West wards.

In Droitwich West, it was Jan Bolton and Cath Powell who emerged victorious, following Thursday’s vote.

In Droitwich Central, Roy Murphy made sure the Conservatives kept their seat, increasing the majority to 142 from 70 votes – that was the margin when Glenise Noyes stood last time around.

Coun Glenise Noyes was moved for the 2015 line up to Droitwich East and she held onto the Conservative seat there, along with Bob Brookes, who is also Spa Mayor, and managed to poll double his next nearest rival.

Droitwich South East saw the two Conservatives – Maureen Lawley and Richard Morris – keep the area blue, with the next best tally being Lib Dem’s Robert Crawford, but he was more than 1,200 votes behind.

In Droitwich South West, stalwart Tom Noyes and fellow Conservative Robert Beale were both returned in the seats they had held before. And both also increased their majorities.

Wychavon Council had labelled this as the biggest ever election in the district’s history and that was epitomised in Bowbrook where 81.78 per cent of the electorate came out to vote. Liberal Democrat Margaret Rowley held onto her seat, maintaining her majority of more than 200 votes.

Judy Pearce was not standing in Dodderhill this time around, but Conservative Hugh Campbell made sure the Tories held onto their seat there.

In Ombersley, the seat was uncontested in 2005 and Conservative Robert Tomlinson picked up the seat there. This time, Liberal Democrat Judith Cussen stood against him, but Coun Tomlinson won the battle 1,058 to 329.

And in Lovett and North Claines, Conservative Lynne Duffy, who previously represented Droitwich West, took one of the seats. Sitting councillor Tony Miller took the other one, increasing his majority to more than 1,200.

The results of the Droitwich seats on Wychavon District Council are printed below.

Bowbrook – Sydney Melvyn (CON), 874, Margret Rowley (LIB DEM), 1,019. LIB DEM HOLD.

Dodderhill – Hugh Campbell (CON), 902, Peter Reginald (LIB DEM), 445. CON HOLD.

Droitwich Central – Roy Murphy (CON), 486, Alan Humphries (LAB), 347, Rebecca Marie (LIB DEM), 130, Neil Whelan (UKIP), 323. CON HOLD.

Droitwich East – Bob Brookes (CON), 1587, Glenise Noyes (CON), 1,201, Sheila Neary (LAB), 775, David Rowe (LIB DEM), 534, Andrew Morgan (UKIP), 724.CON HOLD TWO SEATS.

Droitwich South East – Maureen Lawley (CON), 1,663, Richard Morris (CON), 1,950, Stephen Ainsworth (LAB), 494, Adrian Key (Lib Dem), 287, Robert Crawford (LIB DEM), 455, Robert Burkett (GREEN), 296. CON HOLD TWO SEATS.

Droitwich South West – Robert Beale (CON), 1,208, Tom Noyes (CON), 1,131, Bill Baker (LAB), 602, Wendy Carter (LIB DEM), 432, John Littlechild (LIB DEM), 231, Yuleen Jewell (UKIP), 641, Jane Zurek (GREEN), 301. CON HOLD TWO SEATS.

Droitwich West – Jan Bolton (CON), 983, Cath Powell (CON), 897, Eve Freer (LAB), 829, Jacqueline O’Reilly (LAB), 604), Ann Bennett (GREEN), 381. CON HOLD ONE AND GAIN ONE.

Lovett and North Claines – Lynne Duffy (CON), 1,846, Tony Miller (CON), 2,109, Rory Roberson (LIB DEM), 826, Nigel Addison (IND), 739. CON HOLD TWO SEATS.

Ombersley – Robert Tomlinson (CON), 1,058, Judith Cussen (LIB DEM), 329. CON HOLD.

Digital Advertising

Advertise on the Droitwich Standard to boost your online presence.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Droitwich Standard.

Heart2Heart Dating

Looking for love? Start searching to find a new date on heart2heart dating.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.