Jones takes Chateau Impney crown in record time - The Droitwich Standard

Jones takes Chateau Impney crown in record time

Droitwich Editorial 14th Jul, 2016 Updated: 17th Oct, 2016   0

MARTIN JONES reigned victorious in his Brabham BT21-B at this year’s Chateau Impney Hill Climb as he took almost two seconds off the existing course record in a three-way battle for the title.

On a day which saw the existing course record smashed five times, a record which was set only last year when the event returned to the historic motor sport calendar following a 50-year absence, the morning session saw a trio of drivers emerge as clear contenders for the Chateau Impney crown.

Callum Grant provided the catalyst for a day of drama as the 21-year-old from Bolton, in his first ever hill climb appearance, knocked nearly a second off the original course record of 42.42 seconds with a time of 41.69 in his Merlyn Mk 5/7 Formula Junior.

As the news of a new track record began to sink in with both the driver and 14,000 spectators, Jones upstaged the youngster with a blistering drive when he took to the course in the next class.

Jones completed the 1,000-yard hill climb in an impressive time of 40.5 seconds, almost two seconds quicker than the time set by last year’s winner Jack Woodhouse.

“I was very surprised to win. I have been hill climbing for over 30 years but this is the first fastest time of the day I have secured,” Martin said.

Martin, who is also currently leading the Bugatti Owners’ Club Championship, added: “I decided to be cautious in Saturday practice as it was a course I have never driven but when the sun came out, I thought this might be the best weather we will get and I went for it.”

Sandwiched between the runs of Grant and Jones was Bromsgrove’s Mark Woodhouse in his Lotus 20/22 who also beat the inaugural track record with a time of 42.07, which on another day, would have put him at the summit of standings.

Even though it was not quick enough to secure the day’s fastest time, it was good enough to give him family bragging rights in the Woodhouse household, at least until next year’s event.

David Gidden in his Lotus 23B and Malcolm Wishart in the Lotus 41C also claimed the honour of record-breakers as they recorded times of 42.14 and 42.2 seconds respectively.

Event director Rod Spollon added: “It’s fantastic to see that the record book has been well and truly rewritten in just our second year.

“While we knew that Jack’s record would be challenged throughout the day, we weren’t expecting five different drivers to beat it.

“Congratulations to Martin on his win in what has been a very high calibre field.”

Here are the winners of each class, their vehicles and times:

Class 1: Simon Blakeney-Edwards – Frazer Nash Super Sports – 50.81

Class 2: Ewen Getley – Bentley 3 Litre – 49.36

Class 3: Greg Lerigo – Riley 12/4 Special – 49.18

Class 4: Brian White – Frazer Nash TT Replica – 46.84

Class 5: Mark Walker – Darracq 200Hp – 51.75

Class 6: Winston Teague – Hardy Special II – 47.25

Class 7: Rob Cobden – Riley Falcon Special – 45.13

Class 8: Nick Topliss – ERA R4D – 44.40

Class 9: Julian Grimwade – Frazer Nash Norris Special – 44.98

Class 10: Peter de la Roche – Cooper Mk V – 44.71

Class 11: Mark Woodhouse – Elva 100 FJ – 42.68

Class 12: Peter Joy – Lotus Elite – 44.03

Class 13: Malcolm Thorne – Lotus Buick – 43.88

Class 14: Rod Jolley – Lister Jaguar Monzanapolis – 46.37

Class 15: David Gidden – Lotus 23B – 42.14

Class 16: Callum Grant – Merlyn Mk 5/7 Junior – 41.08

Class 17: Martin Jones – Brabham BT21-B – 40.50

Class 18: David West – Austin Cooper S – 46.87


Advertise with the Droitwich Standard to reach your audience

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.