Online Editions

26th Oct, 2021

Your guide to Thursday's Droitwich Town and Wychavon District Council elections

Tristan Harris 28th Apr, 2019 Updated: 2nd May, 2019

RESIDENTS will be heading to the polls for the Droitwich Town and Wychavon District Council elections on Thursday, May 2.

Currently all but one of the 13 Droitwich seats on Wychavon are held by Conservatives with Margaret Rowley holding a place for the Liberal Democrats.

On the town council it is a similar picture but with Alan Humphries holding the only seat for Labour, out of 15.

In Wychavon Roy Murphy, Karen Tomalin, Sital Harris, Graham Beale, Tom Noyes, Jan Bolton, and Peter Tomlinson will not be standing this time.

Bob Brookes who represented Droitwich East will try and take the Bowbrook seat from Mrs Rowley.

Richard Morris, George Duffy and Tony Miller will be re-standing in Droitwich South East, Droitwich West and Lovett and North Claines respectively.

Alex Sinton, the current town council leader, will be standing in Droitwich East in the Wychavon and Droitwich Spa Town Council elections.

On the town council Roy Murphy, Jan Bolton, Karen Tomalin, Shaun Best, Laurie Evans and Tom Noyes will not be re-standing.

Richard Morris will be vying to hold onto his seat in Copcut and be joined in his battle by fellow Conservative Sandy Laird who represented the Chawson ward last time.

In Droitwich East, Bob Brookes Chris Bowden and Bill Moy will complete the Conservative line-up with Mr Sinton.

In Droitwich West George Duffy and Allan Roberts will be joined by two new Conservative candidates and in Witton Graham Beale will be hoping to hold onto his seat with Eric Bowden standing as the other Tory, replacing Mr Noyes.

Conservative Alex Sinton said: “It is important that we focus on local issues – we have already done a lot but know there is loads more to do.

“We are proud of our record at district and town level, including £1million investment in sports and leisure and the cash we have provided to local groups.

“We are also keen for the new council to reassess the neighbourhood plan and have had some good dialogue with the working group.

“We are pleased with the restarting of the salt production and the benefit to the economy and want to return a brine facility to the town.

“We want to organise a host of events to celebrate the Mayflower 400 in 2020, including one with the CBSO.

“We also want to develop the museum to bring it into the 20th century and engage with the local community to develop the town centre.”

Labour’s Val Humphries said: “This year we have a good mix of experienced campaigners and new candidates, bringing a wealth of experience and knowledge.

“We are hoping to hold the current town council seat, add to it and have our first successful district candidate.”

And Liberal Democrat Margaret Rowley said the party had 11 Liberal Democrats standing in the Droitwich area.

“They have been receiving an encouraging reception on the doorstep,” she added.


Who is standing where? 


Wychavon District Council candidates


Bob Brookes – CON

Margaret Rowley – LD


John Hartley – CON

Alan Humphries – LAB

Chas Murray – LD


Eric Bowden – CON

Wendy Carter – LD

Alex Sinton – CON


Neil Franks – GREEN

John Grady – CON

John Littlechild – LD

Richard Morris – CON

Stephanie Vale – LD

Jane Zurek – GREEN


Matthew Hartley – CON

Adrian Key – LD

David Morris – CON

Paul Wiseman – LD


Jenny Chaudry – CON

George Duffy – CON

Rod Hopkins – LD

Valerie Humphries – LAB

Seth Pearson – LAB


Thomas Coe – LD

Judith Cussen – LD

Sheila Grant – GREEN

Tony Miller – CON

Nicholas – CON


Christopher Day – CON

George Smart – LD

Droitwich Town Council candidates


Nathan Griffiths – LAB

John Hartley – CON

Alan Humphries – LAB


Matthew Hartley – CON

David Morris – CON

Chas Murray – LD

Mary Neville – LAB


Sandy Laird – CON

Becky Littlechild – LD

Richard Morris – CON


Chris Bowden – CON

Bob Brookes – CON

Eve Freer – LAB

Bill Moy – CON

Alex Sinton – CON


Jenny Chaudry – CON

Mark Craigie – CON

George Duffy – CON

Ann Hickman – LD

Rod Hopkins – LD

Valerie Humphries – LAB

Allan Roberts – CON

Jan Shepherd – LAB


Graham Beale – CON

Eric Bowden – CON

Adrian Key – LD

Paul Wiseman – LD

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Droitwich Standard.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.